Getting those miles on the clock, but no discernible change in shape or fitness……

1

August 3, 2011 by welshcyclist

But like I’ve said, so many times before, in this hardly noticed blog of mine, I feel great and powerful, does that sound kind of  macho to say that? It’s not intended to do so, I really do feel like that.

Not that anyone would recognise my power, because I continue to be left in the wake of all and sundry riding on every sort of bike. Fold ups, racers, cross bikes, happy bikes, old beat ups, montain bikes, I know what they all look like from the rear. Sure I get a twinge of envy when they fly by, that’s the part of me that can remember when I was a bit of a flyer on the rugby field, in the centre or on the wing. That was all of 35 -45 years ago, so I don’t think I’ll be recapturing that kind of leg speed, even on my Pioneer GT, again!

Do I really want to? I’ll just have to make do with the fact that there is always someone slower than you (me). Last week I passed three such slowcoaches, it was plain that they were just starting out in this bicycle commuting world of ours, that’s me and you, my reader, if you’re still awake.

Talking of shapes, and I know this isn’t PC, but have you seen the lovely ladies at LGRAB, Girls on Bicycles, and Lovely Bicycle. Cycling in the USA, and Canada must be fantastic with such beauties on the road, what a distraction, I’d never get to work. Mind you I doubt very much that these lovely ladies would be on the road at the same time as me. Awhile back I tried to get a discourse going about how middle class and upwardly mobile they were, definitely rich types. Still they are lookers. Their blogs are eye openers as to life in those countries, which I enjoy reading and looking at the pictures, which again isn’t exactly PC.

Not much to write about, as you will have guessed by now. It was a day off today, back for 4 days and 3 nights on the trot staring tomorrow, if I can keep pedalling everyday, that’ll be  280 miles in the bag. It’s very humid, even more so than the last couple of days, I’m sweating just sat here in the kitchen  

Back to those north american girl bloggers, s adly, they ignore the comments that I submit to their blogs,which is a shame because I’d love to have a chat with them. They obviously consider me to be a chauvinist, which I don’t think I am. What do you think?

Cheers for now.

One thought on “Getting those miles on the clock, but no discernible change in shape or fitness……

  1. Not a chauvanist mate as well you know. Just an ordinary bloke. I also enjoy the summer wear the ladies parade around in. It’s just another thing to remind you you’re alive.

    Oh, and f**k the PC brigade!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 13,925 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 37 other followers

Archives

Back On My Bike

family cycling, campaigning and cake

Musiewild's blog

An occasional blog, mainly photos

Asphalt & Lycra

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My great Wordpress blog

Just another WordPress site

Bike Like Crazy

whatever the weather

The Vicious Cycle

A man searches for meaning...in between leg shavings

All Seasons Cyclist

Real World Product Reviews For Avid Cyclists

Chronicles of a Travel Addict

Solo, budget, ethical travel with a literary twist

onelongride

A fine WordPress.com site

Fearghal Jo

The Official Website

Performance Bicycle Blog

Behind the scenes at Performance Bicycle

rideblog

a wee blog about bikes

Welshcyclist's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Cycling Dutch Girl

the only certainty is change

CyclingEurope.org

Europe... on a bicycle

Tim's cycling blog

mostly about cycling and cycle commuting

Tootlepedal's Blog

A look at life in the borders

Town Mouse

From the edge of Zone 1 to the middle of nowhere...

